Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Ready For Launch – Riverfest Balloon.

 
.

Now that our Riverfest photo contest is over, I can post anything I want from the event.  Not that there is all that much…but I was fascinated by this balloon launch.   Farmer’s Insurance was giving tethered balloon rides.   In the past they have had some trouble getting everything working, including the weather, but this year they had some luck.  I hovered around quite awhile, shooting while the sun set.   I thought this was  a good example of the high ISO capabilities of a my full frame Nikon D700.   Coupled with the rather amazing noise reduction capability of Lightroom (still using version 3), this is the result.  Handheld at ISO 3200.   That’s amazing stuff to me, but I am old and used to shoot Kodachrome 64.

2 responses

  1. oneowner

    It’s a digital shot but still a “Kodak Moment”. This is a fantastic capture and the quality is phenomenal. The people in the foreground give it some scale and I still have an endless fascination with balloons. I’m giving serious thought to a full frame camera (Nikon D600, not out yet) because the quality of the D700 is outstanding but that won’t be for months.

    July 30, 2012 at 8:01 am

  2. Thanks Ken. If I were honest with myself I would probably admit that I don’t need that low light performance all that often, but it sure is nice to have available. It certainly expands your photo possibilities at the ends of the day – or night.

    August 1, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Leave a Reply

