Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

New England Tire Swing

 

 

.

I’m ready for fall.   Anybody else?  There’s only so many 100+ degree days a guy can take.

I don’t think I have posted this before…this was a quick shot of a tire swing in somebody’s yard.   This was a small town in coastal Maine.   I hopped out of the rental car and took a few quick shots here and there.    Mid-day, harsh light, but what can you do? – waiting around was not an option.    Besides, in such a situation I’m always afraid the camera police are going to show up and hassle me – they never do, but I still worry about it every time!

3 responses

  1. I lifted the ban on taking photos in mid-day with harsh light in 2006. Didn’t you get my memo? It’s really a myth that this is not a good time to photograph perpetuated by those who follow the (so called) “Golden Hour” or “Blue Hour” or “Whatever Hour” as the only time to photograph. If you follow their advise you would have missed this shot, which would have been a shame. Today’s cameras and software can handle the deep shadows and harsh highlights better than any film camera and with new HDR techniques, we should never worry about not taking the shot when the sun is directly overhead. I’m not saying that the quality of light is not important, just that it’s not the only thing that helps make a good photo.

    July 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm

  2. elmediat

    Great intensity. Reminds me of an impressionist painting combined with hyper-reality.

    July 28, 2012 at 10:42 pm

  3. Next time I get stuck out making photos at mid-day, I will remember your memo Ken. Thanks for the comments as always.

    July 29, 2012 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

