Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

I Went To The Zoo, And…

All the animals hid their faces.     Naw, I just made that up.   Saturday afternoon I had a couple of free hours, but it was the middle of the day, with not a cloud in the sky.  What can you photograph in harsh mid-day light, where the sky is not important?   I gave the zoo a chance.   We actually have a very highly regarded modern zoo in Wichita, and I haven’t been there in a couple of years so it was quite enjoyable.   One of the newer additions is a pair of grizzly bears, which you can actually get quite close to.   The only thing separating them from the people is a big deep trench (which it looks like he could jump, but I guess not.)   This means no fences or railings to shoot through, although if I had a longer lens I might have been able to isolate some nice head shots.   I’m not sure what use photographing animals in zoos serves other than being fun, I suspect true wildlife photographers would look upon this in  disdain.   It was a fun change of pace at least.

A More Noble Pose

2 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    It looks like this guy had a couple of free hours too. These are great, there are no harsh shadows and there is a lot of detail in the fur. he looks like a friendly guy but those claws look like they can do some damage. I have a friend who makes his living at wildlife photography and he goes to zoos all the time to get photos. He tries to eliminate any signs of captivity in the shots, just as you did here.

    May 9, 2011 at 10:36 am

  2. Yes, it can be a challenge to eliminate signs of captivity, but a modern zoo design and a long lens sure help. I was particularly impressed with this bear exhibit as being photographer friendly.

    May 12, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

