Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Bass Harbor HDR Revisted

Bass Harbor Lighthouse

One of my first blog posts was an HDR photo of the Bass Harbor Lighthouse at sunset.   Now that I have learned more, read more, seen more, I’ve come to cringe a little  over that early, over-the-top saturated version.  This time I went back and started from the original bracketed exposures and gave it another go, trying to achieve something more realistic.  I’ve toned down the saturation, and eliminated most of the halos.

Bass Harbor Lighthouse is just a great location, even if you end up shooting the same shot 1,000 other photographers have gotten.  Like I did.   At least the sky is different every sunset!

Here’s that earlier version for comparison.

3 responses

  1. oneowner

    Oh, yeah! I thought the original was good but this is great. The lighthouse doesn’t compete with the rocks and foliage in the revised photo. The lighting looks more natural and the overall tone is more pleasing. But the overall composition and subject is what makes this a great photo, not to mention a beautiful sunset.

    May 2, 2011 at 6:47 pm

  2. Thanks Ken. You’re the one who started me seriously thinking about revisiting some of these images.

    May 2, 2011 at 7:41 pm

  3. Phil

    Hi there, I found this image (Bass Harbor HDR) on Google images and would love to use it on my website. Is there a way to purchase this image for web use? Or can I use it if I provide appropriate credit/copyright reference?

    March 13, 2015 at 1:02 pm

Leave a Reply

