Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Illuminations No. 1

.

Our local botanical garden, “Botanica” has a large holiday light display called “Illuminations”.   I visited last weekend, not knowing what to expect or what/how to proceed with photographing it…so I did what most of us probably have to do now and then…made it up as we went along.    I did get a lot of practice maneuvering a tripod in a crowd, if nothing else.   The plan is to post a few images from that between now and Christmas.   I may have to go back, I think we missed quite a bit of the show, it is spread over quite a large area.

2 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    I love the Holiday lights (and photographs of them, too). I like the detail in the tree, just enough to keep it interesting. I’m considering shooting lights this year but I’m waiting until there is a little snow on the ground. Since you did all the groundwork, care to share your ISO and other camera settings?

    December 14, 2011 at 12:43 pm

  2. Thanks Ken. I was feeling time pressure with my tripod blocking the pathways and all, so I don’t claim any genius camera setting magic, but on this one…..ISO 800 (My D700 is great at higher ISO’s, I don’t worry about noise at 800 or even higher), f16 (helps with the little starburst patterns on the lights), 4 seconds at 32mm.

    December 15, 2011 at 11:47 am

Leave a Reply

