Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Foggy Morning~Day Four

It would be hard for me to understate how exciting it was to photograph in this dense fog, which is a fairly unusual happening in my hometown.  The ethereal quality the fog imparts to otherwise ordinary scenes was remarkable.   The stable lighting allows one to concentrate on composition.   Another fundamental truth of photographing in fog is that your physical distance to the subject matter becomes very important.   The closer the subject, the more details are revealed, and vice versa.  No zoom lens is going to make that distant tree obscured in the fog any clearer.   If you want it clearer, you’ve got to move closer.     This was as much fun as I’ve ever had photographing anything.  Ever.  I hope it happens again soon!

3 responses

  1. Rudolf Vlcek

    lovely monochrome work indeed.

    March 3, 2011 at 9:43 am

  2. Ken Bello

    I can’t believe you have so many beautiful images from one outing! It’s not fair to the rest of us. And how much did you have to pay those geese to walk between those two trees? Inquiring minds want to know!

    By the way, they really are beautiful.

    March 3, 2011 at 2:18 pm

  3. Thank you gentlemen.

    Next time I’ll send you a message Ken and you can hop on your private jet and get down here so you don’t miss out.

    Seems like I waited forever for that second goose to raise it’s head. I was hoping they would line up even better but as I recall I was squatting at the time and my legs were giving out. Next time I will take your suggestion Ken and flash some bills ($) to encourage better cooperation from the local waterfowl.

    March 3, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Leave a Reply

