Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Boulder Beach

DSV_1671-Edit

 

.

Wet rocks.  I traveled almost two thousand miles from Kansas to Maine, to take photographs of wet rocks.   Because that’s what we do.  (Fortunately,   I came back with a lot more than wet rock photos.)  These are the particularly photogenic rocks of Boulder Beach in Acadia National Park, Maine.  This location is along the shore just north of the Otter Cliffs in my last post.   The waves have worn these rocks super smooth.  Generally, they range in size from baseballs, up to watermelons.  Of maybe softballs to footballs.   Most of them are grapefruit sized.   You get the idea.   I must add that the entire “beach” is composed of these rocks at this spot.  It was very difficult to walk around and use a tripod.  Not an ankle friendly environment, especially in the rain.   The plan was to be here for some super cool sunrise photos-but there were low clouds and rain, no sun – one has to improvise.   I re-post processed this one recently and am quite fond of it.

 

One response

  1. I happen to like photos of rocks. My wife chided me when we went to San Francisco and I took photos of rocks and tree bark and not many of the “tourist attractions”. I did buy a bunch of postcards of the “tourist attractions” and I don’t think I could have taken photos any better than those cards. Did you bring home a rock?

    October 26, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Leave a Reply

