Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

The Mists Of Time

PICT0030-Edit-2

 

.

I call it the mists of time because that sounds more poetic than “slide scan of smoke in the Grand Canyon”.   The year was 2003, and there I was with my new Nikon N80 film SLR at the Grand Freaking Canyon.   There were fires in the area that dropped smoke into the abyss, which depending on your point of view might have been either a good thing or a bad thing for photography.   I am working my way through some scans, this is the first one I thought was blog-worthy.   Working with these .jpg scans makes me appreciate all the more the beauty of shooting digital in RAW.

Someday I may tell the tale of how my cell phone died on the day this was taken, preventing me from checking in with my fiancee (now wife) back at the hotel in Sedona.  OK, if you insist here’s the short version…   When I hadn’t arrived back safely when she expected me, she started calling the authorities, thinking I had “fallen in”.  Apparently the park service, the Arizona highway patrol, and perhaps the Boy Scouts were on the lookout for me.   I was in trouble when I got back to the room.   Oh and none of the agencies looking for me found me.

6 responses

  1. I hope they’re still not looking for you!
    I was in Phoenix in April of 2003 on business and drove up to Sedona for the weekend. That was my first trip there and I was amazed. I did not make the trip to the GC but Sedona was pretty picturesque. I’m glad your breathing new life into those old photos with the scans. It would be a shame to lose something like this.

    July 9, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    • Thanks Ken. If I remember correctly we made the calls that I was found, so I’m pretty sure no one is still looking for me. In fact, I suspect they weren’t looking too hard in the first place, but who knows.

      July 10, 2013 at 8:50 am

  2. in a word – awesome! thanks for sharing

    July 11, 2013 at 7:29 am

  3. Good story 🙂 excellent photo. That’s a pretty good scanner you have there.

    July 13, 2013 at 5:24 pm

  4. This is a stunning shot – the ‘mist’ adds a whole ‘nother dimension to the image.

    July 16, 2013 at 10:55 pm

  5. Hey thanks for the comments!

    August 4, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Leave a Reply

