Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

The Basin Park Hotel

CF1_7143_4_7-2

 

.

Another slice of Eureka Springs, Arkansas.  This is the Basin Park Hotel.  There is a curious lack of photos for the exterior of the building on their official website.  I guess they figure that’s not one of it’s strong points.   I think it has some historic character.   I kind of like this because it looks like the flower box in the upper left could plunge downward at any moment.

4 responses

  1. I guess the hotel management doesn’t think it looks modern enough for promotional photos on the web. But it is a beautiful building with a lot of character. The flower box in the upper left gives the photo and edgy feeling and, with the dramatic sky, a somewhat mysterious look. A great shot.

    June 11, 2013 at 9:37 pm

  2. When I first saw this photo I thought “Oh, why did Charles not crop that left top corner out?”. It made me feel tense, on edge you could say. But then I quickly realised that’s quite an achievement in a still photograph. So I have to say: great job Charles. And I think that building is beautiful and charming. At least to my eyes.

    June 15, 2013 at 6:15 pm

  3. Thanks Cedric. That town is full of interesting architecture.

    June 17, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

