Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Down The Hatch

PICT0038

 

 

.

A blast from the past.  Back in the 1980’s I was in a local park when some hot air balloons became visible, drifting slowly across Wichita.  I saw one of them was going to line up with the giant smoke stack at North High School, which was just across the river from me at the time.   I waited until the right moment and took this exposure.    There it resided in it’s boring slide mount for probably close to 30 years, until last night it met up with my new Wolverine Slide Converter gadget.   Thanks to Ken Bello for making me aware of this device.  I’ve started converting a few old slides, trying to learn the quirks of the Wolverine.   (By the way, that was almost the title of this post…”The Quirks Of The Wolverine”. )   This particular image has also had some Lightroom work done on it to make it a little more graphically interesting to my eye.   I look forward to finding other old gems.

3 responses

  1. I think you’ll have a lot of fun with the Wolverine and this was a perfect slide to get started on. It’s a great shot, one that i looked at for a while before reading the text and trying to figure out what I was looking at. Good catch. Now it’s time to mine those lost diamonds!

    June 6, 2013 at 1:52 pm

  2. This photo is so good Charles. When I first saw it I thought it was some advertising stunt, then I thought it was photoshopped. But the truth of this shot is much more impressive. Great capture. Which model Wolverine do you have?

    June 7, 2013 at 10:45 pm

  3. Thank you very much. Cedric, I have the Orange colored model F2D20 which advertises itself as a 20 megapixel converter. I’m not sure how they arrive at that figure – the conversions are OK, but not super eye-popping high resolution. I think this is the same one Mr. Oneowner himself, Ken Bello has. I will say that just in terms of time, the Wolverine is far more practical than my old finicky Minolta slide scanner. Just clean the slides, load up up to four at once in the tray, slide them through and click a couple of times for each. Then after awhile, go move the SD card from the Wolverine to your computer and transfer over and post process to your hearts content. I waited until it went on sale on Amazon in the US, got it for about $85.

    June 8, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

