Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Abandoned

CF1_7268_69_72-Edit

 

.

The facade of an abandoned building in Eureka Springs, Arkansas.   There were many no trespassing signs around so I had to shoot this from the street, working with about a 3 foot wide space between traffic behind me and a sheer drop off into a drainage ditch in front for the tripod….meaning I couldn’t get in there for any oblique angles etc.  Oh yeah, it was raining a little too!   I always wonder what the people driving by are thinking….are they thinking “cool, I wonder what that guy is photographing?”, or something more like “what an idiot!”   I suspect more of the second.

4 responses

  1. Was this a church at one time. It looks like a church here in Rochester that was burned out many years ago but the city made the stone shell into a park. Very nice but you still can’t go inside. It has the same stone and architecture as this building. I would have stopped to shoot this too if I had the chance. Good one.

    June 2, 2013 at 11:09 am

  2. Ken, I’m not 100% sure if it was a church or not. It does have that look about it though.

    June 2, 2013 at 7:49 pm

  3. This looks like a cool place. I’m not sure if I would have been able to abide by the “No Trespassing” signs though.

    June 7, 2013 at 10:36 pm

  4. Thanks Cedric. I was tempted to get in there closer but at one point I saw someone looking at me suspiciously from an adjacent building on the same property, so I chickened out!

    June 8, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Leave a Reply

