Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Comet Ahoy!

CF1_6131

.

I feel a little stupid.   It turns out that I did manage to capture Comet Pan Starrs after all.   After going back and studying a few of the frames I took near the end of last weeks Tuesday night vigil, I saw something.   On any of the exposures 1 second in length or longer, there it was!   I never saw it with the naked eye, but my Sigmas 72mm diameter (approx.)  200mm focal length lens apparently captured enough light for success.   It’s a good thing I wasn’t chewing gum a few minutes ago when I discovered this fact, I might have swallowed it.   Oh yeah, that’s the comet there in the upper left.  See it?  Better late than never I guess.

I got about 3 or 4 frames with the comet and my planned moon/windmill combo, but the composition is off, the comet is very weak, and they just don’t look good.  The image above looks much better, it was one of the last I took while walking back to the car, not even knowing the comet was in there.   Crazy times we live in.

4 responses

  1. Pretty cool!

    March 18, 2013 at 8:26 pm

  2. Fantastic! Anything greater than 200 mm and you would get either the moor or the comet. This must have been impossible to see in the viewfinder but you can’t argue with success. Good thing you went back and reviewed this while it was fresh in your mind or it might have been lost forever.

    March 18, 2013 at 9:22 pm

  3. Thanks Ken. Of course it would have been better if I could have seen the comet, that way I could have corrected my original camera location and perhaps gotten my windmill/moon/comet thing to work out. As it is, I am happy to at least have this, since I thought I had struck out completely.

    March 22, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

