Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Moonrise~Inside Passage

DSC_3610-Edit

 

.

I’ve been tinkering with this several-years-old photo for some time now.   It was taken right at sunset, from a ship in the Inside Passage along the west coast of Canada.   I’ve been reading about Ansel Adams, and how he dodged and burned the heck out of his prints to make the image he wanted.   It makes me shake my head at the “purist” photographers on the internet who deride anyone who does a lot of post processing.   Anyhow, I ain’t no Ansel Adams but I now feel even a little bit better about tinkering around with my “digital negatives” .    By the way, although this has been majorly massaged, it is not a composite or double exposure etc.  (Not that there’s anything wrong with that.)

One response

  1. You’ve been holding out on us, Charles. This is extraordinary.
    I don’t believe in the “purist” idea in any art form. Purist is code for boring and unimaginative, especially in photography, which is rooted in a scientific process and dependent on technology.

    March 8, 2013 at 7:44 am

Leave a Reply

