Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Sunset Road No. 1

 

.

Last Saturday, on the way home to Wichita from northern Kansas, my wife, stepson, and I were  fortunate enough to be out on the plains as the sun set.  As usual, the urge to get home was powerful.   The sunset was only mediocre.   We made one stop, which only produced mediocre photos.   I was ready to stay on the highway and get home, but my wife and stepson urged me to stop again.  Usually I don’t get that much enthusiasm from the gang….so I thought OK, lets see if the next crossroad has a good name – not great criteria for chosing  a road for photography, but that’s how I was feeling.   The next green sign came up into view, announcing the name of the crossroad.    As I read the sign, it took a moment to sink in.   The actual, official, name of the road is “Sunset Road”.    Well if that isn’t a sign from above, I don’t know what is.   We pulled off and I shot for a bit.  The sunset never developed into one of those major shooting rays kind of thing, but it was very nice to be out on Sunset Road in the country.   Would I have stopped if the road was named “Smith Road”, or ” Rocky Road”, or whatever?…I don’t know.

7 responses

  1. oneowner

    I think you may be underestimating this shot. It certainly has a great look and the colors are exactly what we would expect in a great sunset. And what a story about the name of the road! Remind me to take the road less traveled next time.

    October 10, 2012 at 1:30 pm

  2. i agree with the previous comment. Your shot is super nice!

    October 10, 2012 at 1:33 pm

  3. I agree with both of the above. It’s a brilliant shot

    October 10, 2012 at 1:38 pm

  4. Thank you Alastair.

    October 11, 2012 at 2:15 pm

  5. elmediat

    Just wow. A classic Technicolor movie scene. You can hear the soaring music.

    January 24, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Leave a Reply

