Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Pot of Gold

 

.

I don’t even like this photo that much.  So why am I posting it?  Good question.  It doesn’t have a carefully crafted composition, probably due to the fact I was running across a busy road after a hail storm with lightning about.   I sort of like it though.   There was no pot of gold to be found, but there was some golden wheat.   One of my favorite inspirational photos was created by the late Galen Rowell, who took a famous image of a rainbow and a palace in Tibet.   Perhaps that was what I was going for here.   Unfortunately I am too old to run very far, and there are no palaces to be found, and this rainbow appears to be lacking in the blue and the violet.   I still kind of like it, so there you have it.

 

Here’s another, taken a couple of minutes earlier.  Somehow the transmitter tower does not really have the visual power of  a palace in Tibet, but we must work with what we have available.

Rainbow and tower.

4 responses

  1. oneowner

    I really like the first image. then I scrolled down to the second. I think I like it more than the first simply because of the unexpected element and that big sky. The transmitter dwarfs everything except the rainbow. it’s a great shot.

    June 20, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    • I still wish there had been a palace in the frame, but thanks Ken.

      June 22, 2012 at 11:24 am

  2. I like it! I’m happy you posted it!

    June 20, 2012 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

