Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

The Unexpected

 

.

On Memorial Day my wife and I headed out to search the countryside for interesting barns or other scenes to photograph.   We stumbled across a beautiful Memorial Day display at the cemetery in Benton, Ks., which I posted an image of on Monday.  We did find a barn, but the sky was not particularly interesting.   We ended up eating a little picnic lunch at Lake Afton, which is a few miles from Wichita.   As I looked up at the underside of the wooden shelter we were under, I thought…wow that looks kind of interesting.  I took a bracketed set, put it through Photomatix, then back into Lightroom for level tweaks and a monochrome conversion.   A totally unexpected subject, and turned out to be one of my favorites of our little trip.

3 responses

  1. oneowner

    Great shot, Charles. I really like this kind of symmetry and the texture and tone is terrific. An unexpected surprise like this is a real treat and I’m glad you recognized it when you saw it. Scenes like this go unnoticed so often. The shot is a reminder to all photographers that they need to be aware of their surroundings at all times and open to new ideas.

    May 30, 2012 at 4:15 pm

  2. Thank you sir. One of my “rules” is to always look behind me in case something interesting is happening….now I guess I should amend it to also look above.

    May 31, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  3. elmediat

    Very well done. An intriguing image. The viewer could not tell the context without the background information. As a consequence, it has a pure, almost abstract-timeless quality.

    June 1, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

