Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Storm Sky No.1

.

Usually when there is threatening weather, you will find yours truly at home, where all good citizens are supposed to go when the skies turn angry.  Last Saturday however, things did not turn out that way.  My wife and I had planned on a little trip out in the country to find and photograph a particular barn I knew about.   Severe thunderstorms developed west of Wichita however, and I decided the responsible thing to do would be to take a short drive out to the park where I often photograph, which is much closer to home than the planned barn trip.  (Responsible is a relative term, I was running around with my tripod near a tall steel windmill, with lightning in the area.)   The image above is from the park.   Expecting to go home at that point, my wife surprised me by suggesting we drive west, out where we had seen some golden wheat fields earlier in the weekend.  West would be  driving into the storm, but I love a challenge.  (Turns out she did not know the storms had been dropping tornadoes one county to the west.)   We hit a couple more locations, on one I found myself under some gigantic power line towers.  I must be an idiot.  Anyhow, I will post more as the week goes by.  No photographers, or their spouses, were hurt during this excursion.

4 responses

  1. oneowner

    It’s nice to have a scout along on photo safaris, isn’t it? Storms clouds present a great opportunity in our area but out your way you take your life in your hands. Still the temptation is too much to overcome sometimes but the results, like this, are worth it. Excellent.

    May 21, 2012 at 7:50 am

  2. I would put photographers in the same category as storm chasers and those scientists who study things like volcanos – right up until the volcano or storm kills them. It’s a matter of passion. I have a healthy respect for nature, and power lines, but my desire to get a great shot often overrules my better judgment.

    May 21, 2012 at 10:54 am

  3. Thanks. 99% of the time I tend to be a little over-cautious, but that other 1% of the time I might do something a little riskier than normal for a special photo opportunity.

    May 22, 2012 at 10:25 am

Leave a Reply

