Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Supermoon No. 1

 

 

.

As you may have seen in the news, Saturday night’s full moon was extra special.  Our moon’s orbit around the earth is somewhat elliptical, so it is closer to us at certain times.  When those close approaches happen to coincide with the proper alignment with the sun for a full moon, we get a “supermoon”, which appears larger than at other times.    This windmill image was no accident, I used a fantastic app on my iPad called The Photographer’s Ephemeris.   You can stick a pin in the app’s map and it will project lines to show you exactly where the sun and moon will rise and set on the horizon.  I had a couple of ideas on where to position myself for Saturday’s moonrise, the app helped me know exactly where to be to get the image I had in mind.   This app gets the Warped Prism seal of approval!

Once the moon rose high enough to become visible through distant clouds and haze, there was a remarkably short time to work.  This is an HDR image processed through Photomatix, then some tweaks in Lightroom.  I have a small handful of ‘keepers’, but have found it really difficult to choose what to post.

6 responses

  1. What a beautiful shot! And thank you for mentioning The Photographer’s Ephemeris app. I’m trying it out now 🙂

    May 7, 2012 at 7:09 am

    • Why thank you sir. I hope you find the app useful, as I did.

      May 7, 2012 at 5:34 pm

  2. oneowner

    WOW!!! This is one impressive shot!!! Good exposure on the moon and the foreground. The spinning windmill picks up the colors of the moon, too. I don’t have an iPad but there may be an app similar for the Fire. I will have to do some checking. Thanks for the tip.

    May 7, 2012 at 7:41 am

    • Thanks Ken. I believe you can actually download the application for your home computer for free, you only pay if you want it on a mobile device.

      May 7, 2012 at 5:35 pm

  3. elmediat

    Excellent. My moon shots are hit and miss. 🙂

    June 1, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  4. beautiful shot. the motion of the windmill.. the colors… the moon. Very nice.

    June 5, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Leave a Reply

