Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Venus & Jupiter Sittin’ In A Tree

 

.

This week, for various astronomical reasons, Venus and Jupiter appear unusually close together in the western sky after sunset.  This is known as a conjunction.  While interesting and lovely, especially for astronomy enthusiasts, this does not necessarily lend itself to spectacular photography.   On this one, I found myself more interested in how the sycamore tree looked in this several second exposure, illuminated by a light on the garage nearby.   Yes, I would like to claim this is some intricately planned multi-flash operation, but no.  Just a tree, illuminated by a garage light, along with two planets as the icing on the cake.

4 responses

  1. Nice shot 🙂

    March 14, 2012 at 9:50 am

  2. ken bello

    I was scheduled to go to a concert the night I saw Venus & Jupiter in the sky. It happened to be the one night in a very long time that was not overcast. I didn’t have a camera but it’s just as well as all I would have gotten was two tiny dots in the frame. Not very exciting. Your shot is way better than anything I could have taken. This also has very nice color and composition.
    Let me know if you are going to trade in your N700 on the new N800.

    March 14, 2012 at 1:14 pm

  3. Ha! I don’t think a D800 is in my future, unless that whole Powerball thing works out.

    March 29, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Leave a Reply

