Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Rainy Evening In Old Town

.

Not much beats neon lights reflecting on rainy pavement.   This is HDR, taken in  “Old Town” Wichita, where the Warren Theater anchors a series of shops and restaurants around the perimeter of the square.   Rain was still falling during this adventure.  My Nikon D700 has good weather sealing, but it was getting wet  enough that my little voice saying “you could be ruining your camera!” finally got the better of me and I gave up.    This HDR was generated and tonemapped in Photomatix Pro, then finished off with a little cropping, spotting, level tweaks, and noise reduction  in Lightroom.

7 responses

  1. ken bello

    Really nice street scent, Charles. I like the symmetry of the walkway and the reflections. Did you use a tripod? I’ve not done too much night photography (it’s past my bedtime) but I’d like to give it a shot (pun intended). I keep an absorbent wash cloth in my bag for those days when the camera gets wet and a microfiber cloth for the lens because I like to go out in the rain.

    October 10, 2011 at 8:04 am

    • Thank you Ken. Yes, a tripod was used. I had one of those thicker microfiber cloths like you might use washing the car with me, used it to cover the camera as best I could. It still got wet, as did I, but it was worth it.

      October 11, 2011 at 11:11 am

  2. Great. Seems so magical!

    October 10, 2011 at 5:41 pm

  3. Tracy Davis

    This photographs is a work of art! Absolutely amazing and beautiful.

    September 29, 2013 at 4:44 pm

  4. Cara

    Hello Charles – I would like to buy one of your prints. How do I contact you?

    February 3, 2016 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

