Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Fireworks

.

This is my second place image in the fireworks category at the Wichita Riverfest Photo Contest.   Photographing the fireworks this year was made more difficult because they changed the launch site from previous years, and specifics were not publicized.   They even added a couple of different launch sites to the mix, there were actually  fireworks going off about 40 yards to my right here, but they were way too close to shoot.   As you can probably imagine, it is very helpful to know exactly where they are being launched from ahead of time so you can work out a suitable camera location in order to include a pleasing foreground.

I got pretty lucky considering, and found a spot on a steep hill, halfway into a flower bed on the riverbank from which to shoot this image.  We do what we must.

6 responses

  1. Gracie

    Amazingly done. Loving the colorful reflections on the water.

    October 6, 2011 at 8:25 am

  2. Though it can be difficult, photographing fireworks is one of my favorite things. Even if my shots usually don’t come out as crisp as yours, there is still some cool effect that happens to make the photo great.

    October 6, 2011 at 8:54 am

    • Thanks Marissa. No matter how much one prepares, there is a lot of random chance with fireworks photography.

      October 7, 2011 at 10:56 am

  3. ken bello

    I’ve shot fireworks before with nothing as successful as this. You managed to get good exposure of the skyline as well as the fireworks, tricky. I love all the smoke in the background too, it gives it a lot of atmosphere. I can almost smell the gunpowder.

    October 6, 2011 at 1:18 pm

  4. Thanks Ken. I love the smell of gunpowder in the morning…..ah but I digress. I usually start with a general group of ballpark settings when shooting fireworks, then adjust a little on the fly if I can keep my wits about me. There is a certain timing you can get into anticipating bursts after launch sounds blah blah blah, but along with experience frankly there is a lot of plain old luck involved. I might have shot 100 plus images and only 8 or 10 are fairly good, and only two or three rise to ‘I could put this on the internet good.’

    October 7, 2011 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

