Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Dog vs. Raccoon~Urban Wildlife Incident Report

.

It was an ordinary quiet morning here in Kansas’  largest city.   Then I heard my dog Lucas barking.  Not the “I want to come in” bark.  Not the “I see something across the street” bark.  Not even the “there is a squirrel in that tree” bark.   This was definitely the “there is a large unusual creature in the yard!” bark.   I went out to see, and there it was.  Was it a cat with strange markings?  No, it was a raccoon in a tree.  Unlike the fire incident in July, this time I sprinted back in the house, grabbed my camera out of the bag, switched to my 70-200mm zoom, and ran back out.  Unfortunately, I looked down to see there was no memory card in the camera.  I ran back in, found a card, inserted it, formatted it, and ran back out.   The raccoon was still there, in a heated standoff with Lucas.  I was able to get a few pretty good  portraits.   Things were getting pretty tense, and visions of rabies shots began dancing in my head, so Lucas and I retreated to the house and let the stressed raccoon go about his/her  business.     I believe these are the first raccoon images in my portfolio.

.

The Standoff

4 responses

  1. oneowner

    Who is that masked man, …er, raccoon? The first photo is actually a great animal portrait. He (she?) was just waiting for you to get your camera (and memory card) so you can get this picture. How considerate. To my knowledge, this is the first picture of Lucas that you posted, also. Two fer Tuesday, as they say.

    August 30, 2011 at 12:55 pm

  2. Great shot! My dog used to have stand-offs with oppossum and once with some wild turkeys and another time with a rattlesnake. At least raccoons are cute!

    August 30, 2011 at 1:40 pm

  3. Later in the day a neighbor knocked on my door and was warning me about a “sick raccoon” that had been seen in the neighborhood. How it was determined that it was sick was not revealed. Anyhow, Lucas and I lived to tell the tale. We have also had the occasional possum like you Patti, but I’m not holding my breath over any turkey’s :).

    September 1, 2011 at 12:04 pm

  4. Ken Bello

    i think if you see a raccoon in the daytime wandering around, chances are it’s rabid. At least that’s what I hear from my neighbors in MN when we spotted one in the yard a few years ago. They called Animal Control because their dogs played out in the yard. They trapped the raccoon and sent him to a happy place.

    September 1, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Leave a Reply

