Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Senior Prank & Confusing Conversation No. 3,246

.

I’m going to veer off the photo-centric path for a post here (although I am providing twice the number of photos as usual).   This is Wichita High School North, from which yours truly graduated in 1977.  Apparently, sometime in the intervening years a tradition has taken hold where the senior class will TP  the grounds around the start of the school year.  (My sources indicate  this is all sanctioned so nobody got in trouble. )   My wife and I spied this last week while driving by, so I came back later to take a few record shots for the blog.  This was the largest TP hit I have ever seen, and I have seen a few in my time .  Well done!

The second part of the story results from my loitering around taking the photos.  A nice lady pulled up to take some photos of the carnage with her iPhone.  The following conversation ensued.

Nice Lady: “They were camped out last night on the lawn with tents!”

C.F.:  “The senior class?”

Nice Lady: “Yes, it’s a tradition.”

C.F.:” I graduated from North High School in 1977.”

Nice Lady: “Me too!”

C.F. (thinking I might know her-extend my hand in greeting): ” Charles Ford”

Nice Lady:   *Blank Look*

C.F.: “Charles Ford”

Nice Lady: “Where’s that?”

C.F. : “That’s my name.”

Nice Lady:  Oh.

Nice Lady continues, indicating that she must not have heard the North High part.  She graduated in 1977, but not in Wichita.  hehe.

Actually, this all sounded much funnier before I typed it out.   You probably had to be there.  Anyway, since I am always looking for new blog material, there you have it!   Congratulations to this senior class, they pulled off a doozy.

4 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    This would be considered a felony in New York State resulting in a stiff fine, jail time and for repeat offenders, execution. You’ve captures the mayhem nicely here. Any btw, the school is a beautiful building.
    The strange nice lady must have been a good sport if she was also taking photos. Funny story.

    August 22, 2011 at 8:37 am

    • Thanks Ken, North High with it’s signature tower is arguably the most attractive high school building around here. Of course I may be biased.

      August 24, 2011 at 7:50 am

  2. I love this! And I am also pleased to hear the kids will not get in trouble. There was a news story the other day–in TX, I think–of a girl about 12 selling lemonade to make money for something she was saving for. The second day, she was closed down by the local cops because she did not have a license, details on what was in the lemonade, etc. OMG. There should be some things left for childhood–or almost adulthood as in your photo record!

    Love the conversation too. I graduated college in CA in 1977–maybe we knew each other too?! Ha.

    August 22, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    • Apparently everybody who graduated from somewhere in 1977 is supposed to know each other. 🙂

      August 24, 2011 at 7:51 am

Leave a Reply

