Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Monochrome Morning At Portland Head

.

Another day has begun as the sun rises above the Atlantic as viewed from near the Portland Head Lighthouse in Maine.  HDR strikes again!  I suspect trying to achieve this “old school” with neutral density grad filters or darkroom voodoo would have been quite a bit more difficult.   I am quite fond of this crop.   It occurs to me that if I were the devious sort and had a lot of time on my hands, this could become a nice moon over the water type shot.   Is replacing the sun with the moon against the photo rulebook?  Will the photo purists come visit in their black helicopters?  I’m probably already on their watch list.   I doubt I have the skills necessary to pull of a celestial object swap convincingly  anyhow.  Let’s just forget I mentioned it.

3 responses

  1. ken bello

    I like this just the way it is, Charles. It’s a really nice conversion. I have a few “moon shots” in the database you can use anytime. The flare around the sun could be a problem. Most of the “purists” are mindless zombies. You have to shoot them in the head (just kidding, of course). Not really.

    August 19, 2011 at 10:21 am

  2. elmediat

    Wonderful composition. Just fine as is. Mind you, for fun you could add the moon as well and just quote from the “The Walrus and The Carpenter”.
    The moon was shining sulkily,
    Because she thought the sun
    Had got no business to be there
    After the day was done–

    August 20, 2011 at 9:06 pm

  3. That flare would be tricky, I think I’ll leave it alone for now. Loving “The Walrus and The Carpenter”, I’ll have to remember that one.

    August 24, 2011 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

