Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Dawn At Portland Head Light

.

Although I can’t truthfully say the Portland Head Light is as exciting to photograph as the Bass Harbor Light, pretty much any real lighthouse on the Maine coast is more exciting than most of the shooting around home territory.  Perhaps this is due to the distinct lack of lighthouses here in Kansas.   I’ve been revisiting a few old images from New England, now that I know (or at least have deluded myself into thinking I know) more about HDR processing etc.   This is a good example of what HDR can accomplish, unless dramatically overexposed in the sky, the lighthouse  is seen in silhouette by the camera.   Blending in one of those frames exposed for the lighthouse and foreground, we get the result above.

As I recall, this was taken standing on a picnic table in order to get just that little extra bit of height needed.   The sky in this particular sunrise was not spectacular, but that’s just bad luck.  I would have kept going back for that special sky, if time had allowed.   This is a three exposure HDR, again processed in Photomatix and finished off with a few Lightroom tweaks.  I would love to go back to Maine, I really enjoyed it.

7 responses

  1. ken bello

    This is nothing short of spectacular! The colors are gorgeous, Your HDR work is very impressive. This is a fine job of bringing out the detail in the house, and certainly worth standing on the table. Although Kansas is lacking in lighthouses, the planes are very beautiful and just as photogenic.
    I continue to be unimpressed by the “HDR Pro” adjustment that came with Photoshop CS5. Some areas (like sky) look grainy and the shadows are muddy. I use it but still have to make adjustments. I’ll have to do something about that some day.

    August 15, 2011 at 8:18 am

    • Thank you Ken. Soon you too will be assimilated by the Photomatix collective. Resistance is futile.

      August 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  2. Really beautiful! The composition, colors and treatment are all gorgeous. In Nebraska I seem to have the same problem as you. Must learn to appreciate cornstalks and cows.

    August 15, 2011 at 10:43 am

    • Thank you very much for taking the time to comment with such kind words.

      August 16, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  3. Beautiful shot! I like how the sun is behind the lighthouse. I have been messing around with textures lately (I have a few posted on my site), and this cloudless sky would work perfect for it. Have you tried them out??

    August 17, 2011 at 7:24 am

  4. elmediat

    Beautiful composition. The light & colour have a painterly quality without detracting from the photographic detail. For HDR work, it certainly doesn’t look exaggerated or other-worldly in a negative way. Impressive processing.

    August 17, 2011 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

