Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Happy Duck In The Rain

This is something I like to call “Happy Duck In The Rain” .  Hey, it is what it is, I am a simple guy.

Wichita is experiencing a period of intense heat and drought.   Last Saturday we had a record breaking  scorcher at 111 degrees.   Tuesday evening I had noticed the sky was looking interesting, so I set out downtown to the river area.   As I parked a brief but potent little rain shower erupted, much to the delight of the ducks and geese in the area.   I waited the rain out, and the sky got interesting again.  More on that later.

3 responses

  1. ken bello

    I don’t know how you get animals to pose for you, but, damn, you have a talent! I love ducks and geese, but I have never taken a shot this good. That’s a talent.

    July 14, 2011 at 1:57 pm

  2. Thanks Ken. My theory on what elevates this mostly lucky shot over and above a truly boring photo of a duck is…
    A: Duck almost appears to be making eye contact with photographer/viewer.
    B: Falling raindrops actually visible.
    C: Shot wide open at f/2.8 for background blur – focus on duck happened to be right on the money. (Mostly luck and Nikon technology.)
    D: Nice little tree in backgound.
    E: Absurdly tight crop of original to achieve this composition. (Lightroom crop tool makes good photo out of not so good photo.)

    Now I must go scour other blogs so I can over analyze photos of dogs or something.

    p.s. For some reason I am not getting my usual email notifications of comments left on the blog. Anybody else seeing that? Already checked my settings, which still look correct.

    July 14, 2011 at 2:15 pm

  3. I like the duck–and the rain.

    Sorry, no idea about the loss of email notifications. Another blogger reported that her comment button was mysteriously turned off on one entry. I had a few subscribers says they did not get notices, but then we tried to check and it seemed they got the next notice. I vote for gremlins.

    July 14, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Leave a Reply

