Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Reflections

I had an image from my foggy morning photo session awhile back that I never quite knew what to do with.  It was the reflection of trees in a mirror smooth pond.   It occurred to me that I could try something along the lines I remember Ken Bello  doing on his blog , a mirror image.   A reflected view of the reflection, on top of the reflection.   That’s not confusing at all!  Sometimes I think this  pursuit of photography is all done with smoke and mirrors anyway, I suppose this is my tribute to that concept.

8 responses

  1. ken bello

    Wow! This is awesome! This reminds me of some of Jerry Uelsmann’s photos, where tree are featured so prominently. Sot of the “trees floating in air” quality. He was an early inspiration for me and continues to be. Your choice of this photo for the reflection idea is perfect. This is good poster material.

    July 8, 2011 at 9:00 am

  2. Wow, I just skimmed an interview with Jerry Uelsmann on the internet. Fascinating, and what a talent…and all with film and a darkroom! Quite humbling. He said something in that interview that I think I have always thought, but was never able to say so clearly, especially the last sentence.

    “Well, I do think, particularly the way I work, the better images occur when you’re moving to the fringes of your own understanding. That’s where self-doubt and risk taking are likely to occur. It’s when you trust what’s happening at a non-intellectual non-conscious level that you can produce work that later resonates, often in a way that you can’t articulate a response to. So much of what we consider knowledge involves being able to state something in words. But there is another level at which things impact us in a visual way that we really can’t articulate a response to. “

    July 8, 2011 at 9:24 am

  3. Very Cool. 🙂

    July 8, 2011 at 10:39 am

  4. elmediat

    Beautiful work.

    July 9, 2011 at 9:41 pm

  5. Thanks!

    July 10, 2011 at 10:43 am

  6. mewithmycamera

    now thats awesome! great work!

    July 14, 2011 at 9:21 am

  7. Thanks for the comment, it’s hard to go wrong with a foggy day.

    July 14, 2011 at 1:21 pm

  8. I like the picture.If I had chance to take it,ı would wait for a bird or a boat:)

    July 25, 2011 at 8:03 am

Leave a Reply

