Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Thunderhead

Saturday evening there was a thunderstorm brewing just east of Wichita, illuminated by the setting sun.  I didn’t have time to go anywhere to find a nice foreground, so this is a tight crop.   I tried HDR on this but I actually ended up liking the straight version best, so that’s what you see here.   This was cropped and levels adjusted in Lightroom, no HDR shenanigans this time.   I’m always looking for nice cloudscapes, an interesting sky is irresistable to me.

3 responses

  1. ken bello

    This is a great shot of a beautiful formation. I have a whole catalog of cloud shots myself. I became interested in clouds years ago after buying a book with cloud photographs. All in black and white! Because of our persistent overcast skies, we don’t get too many days with formations like this, so thanks for posting.

    June 20, 2011 at 8:19 am

  2. Thank you Ken. I was just letting the dog out , facing west, and noticed an odd light on the yard, so I stepped around the corner of the house and there it was in the east. Anyhow we are now under a tornado watch so I may get some action photos later. (Just kidding – I hope.)

    June 20, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  3. Anonymous

    wow~i love this color in the sky~!

    June 24, 2011 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

