Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Under a Bridge

This is the underbelly of the Douglas Ave bridge, arguably the main bridge in Wichita.  It was rebuilt from scratch a few years ago, and I think it’s underside turned out to be a fine subject for some HDR work.   This was your basic three exposure combination, merged with Photomatix, then worked on some more using Lightroom to adjust some levels.   The base exposure was per my D700’s matrix metering, then bracketed exposures were made at -2 & +2.  (Actually my Nikon D700 cannot be set to bracket at 2 ev intervals, so I have to take 5 exposures to get my final three – a minor annoyance.)

2 responses

  1. ken bello

    This is amazing! What a great composition. How did you get this shot? Is there a way to walk under the bridge?
    The D80 will only bracket 3 exposures in .3 to 2 stops (in .3 intervals). If I needed more exposures I’d have to set them manually. I would like the 5 exposure range though, especially for those days with a bright sky overhead.

    May 16, 2011 at 5:23 pm

  2. Thanks Ken. Although I would like to claim some ingenious photographer mojo, the fact is there is a big walkway under the bridge on both sides of the river here. You can walk right under it. I was actually walking from one location to another, glanced to the side as I walked under the bridge, took a few more steps….then decided to backtrack.

    May 17, 2011 at 1:47 pm

Leave a Reply

