Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Dandelion

This Dandelion  (Taraxacum officinale for the scientifically inclined) is ready to unleash it’s progeny.   The parachute seeds will colonize the area where the wind deposits  them.   While this weed is the scourge of lawn care, it’s beautiful seed heads are fascinating.   Complexity and symmetry all rolled up into one nearly perfect sphere.   I shot this with my Canon screw-on close up lens, the depth of field is very shallow so the outer part of the sphere went soft. 

2 responses

  1. oneowner

    This is one of my favorite subjects to shoot. I find them fascinating. I like the conversion and the shallow depth of field. The close up lens does a very nice job.
    There are some homeowners in our area that weed-and-feed their lawns constantly. While I don’t encourage the dandelions, I usually let them have their way and then I pull them out after they have completed their mission.

    April 20, 2011 at 9:50 am

  2. I was actually pulling some of them out of the lawn this evening, but I fear there are too many, I barely made a dent.

    April 20, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

