Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Miracle Flower

Red Tulip

My large but minimally maintained backyard is not particularly scenic.  I can barely grow grass, I seem to do much better with weeds.  A week or so ago I noticed a spot of red out there.  Too far away from the house to identify, I was thinking it was a piece of trash blown into the yard.  Walking out to retrieve it, I discovered, to my amazement, it was not trash, but a perfect red tulip.   Growing out in the middle of the yard, this was something new.  I know for at least the ten years I have been here, there have been no flower beds, flower gardens, or an attempt at such anywhere in the area.

So what could this mean?  Was it my wife’s recently passed beloved grandmother sending us a message?  Was it my dad saying ‘hey’ from beyond?   A special gift for me to celebrate another spring after a health scare in the fall?   A little divine help in naming my wife’s new upcoming business venture?   Or perhaps just a flower.  Whatever the case, we are enjoying the mere fact of it’s existence.

To tell this story with a photograph I really needed to show the tulip small in the frame, illustrating it’s lonely position out in the middle of the otherwise unremarkable setting, however I couldn’t seem to figure out how to execute that in a satisfying fashion.  I have thus gone macro to at least have a record of the special flower.

2 responses

  1. ken bello

    That is a remarkable story, Charles. Tulips are bulbs that have to be planted, unlike some flowers that grow from seed and possibly sown from birds. I’ve had difficulty cultivating them. Try to transplant it in the fall to a better location and remember that this is a special flower.

    I like the shallow depth of field on this and the background color setts off the flower very nicely.

    April 19, 2011 at 8:55 am

  2. Thanks Ken. I suppose I was dimly aware that tulips grow from bulbs, planted. I guess that makes this all the more remarkable.

    April 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

