Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Things You Walk By But Never See…

 

My wife and I have been walking, and she insists on taking the same route every time because we have figured out distances for it.  Unfortunately, at least most of this route is the most non-photogenic landscape (really cityscape).  I’ve taken my small camera on a couple of those walks recently with the self imposed assignment of finding some sort of image(s) that are satisfying.  I saw this cover plate, something we walk over all the time, something no ‘normal’ person would ever stop to photograph.  I never claimed to be normal, so I did it anyway and here it is.   I wanted to find images that were interesting without Photoshopping them to within one inch of their life, which is why this one has only been Photoshopped to within two inches of it’s life.

2 responses

  1. ken bello

    I like this photo, Charles. But the question you raise here is – can Photoshop make an interesting photo out of one that originally is not (interesting)? I think when you Photoshop something you are putting your own spin on it, making it more personal. That in itself is not a bad thing. If you put 20 artists in a room and tell them to draw apples I guarantee there will be some bananas in there somewhere. It’s an interesting challenge to try to make a photograph out of the unexpected.

    March 23, 2011 at 1:17 pm

  2. As I often say “it’s all relative”. I suppose I found the original image interesting to a certain small degree, but made it more so with some post processing.

    The world is too full of interesting imagery for me to spend too much time on such exercises, but sometimes it’s fun to try and think outside the box a little and make a ‘photograph out of the unexpected’ as you say Ken.

    March 24, 2011 at 7:23 am

Leave a Reply

