Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Making Do On A Foggy Morning

 

This morning there was a beautiful blanket of thick fog over Wichita.  While I really wanted to be out shooting with my ‘real’ camera,  I was at an appointment and couldn’t be shooting.  On the way home the fog had begun to burn off, but I stopped at one of our more scenic urban areas to see what I could see.  Unfortunately, all I had with me was my new 4th gen iPod touch, which now comes with a camera.  A very paltry, inadequate camera, apparently with far less resolution than my first digital camera circa mid 1990’s.  (The iPhone has a much better camera.)   However, one must rise to the challenge and I though it would be an interesting experiment to see what I could get with the iPod.  These are my favorite two shots, they have just been cropped slightly from the originals.   I can see where you might be able to achieve some hip cool low-res imagery if that’s your thing.   I look forward (sort of) to trying more of this.   But I tell you, I yearned for my Nikon this morning, or even my little Canon S90.   I guess any camera is better than no camera at all.

 

3 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    I love both of these shots, Charles. I learned a long time ago that the tools an artists uses are far less important than his (or hers) vision. These are perfect examples. The atmospheric quality is really very nice. Well done.

    February 16, 2011 at 11:01 am

  2. I agree with Ken. I saw a documentary on photographers and one took pictures of people he met on the street using a simple point and click. They came out really well and had a story behind each one also. I love all of your photos!

    February 16, 2011 at 1:16 pm

  3. Thank you for the comments Ken and Gayle. I was hoping for more fog this morning but alas, it was not to be.

    February 17, 2011 at 8:54 am

Leave a Reply

