Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Photos I Like But….

 

For some reason I remembered  this particular image the other day, and thought I might make a post every now and then of a photo that I always liked, but never got any positive feedback on from my usual audience (family).   Not a postcard scenic, or particularly revealing as a record shot, I suppose this is one just appealed to the photographer in me.   These bright red streetlights are outside the Princess Wilderness Lodge just outside the entrance to Denali National Park in Alaska.   I just liked the pattern they made against the mountain I guess, it probably helps that they were bright red.  Man vs. Nature?   A study in repeating shapes?  Nonsense?  I just like it, that’s all.

(Although I doubt if he will believe me, I would like to assure Ken that I was going to post this today before I saw he made a post about red.   Just another eerie coincidence.)

2 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    This is exactly the kind of photo that I would hang on a wall. You’re right, the bright red is a nice contrast with the natural blues and greens in the background. But the thing like most is the composition. I love the red light in the sky.
    Yes, a coincidence with the red post but I guess any photographer shooting landscapes are as drawn to the color as much as I am. Great minds think alike.

    January 31, 2011 at 12:23 pm

  2. joaoacioli

    I like the way the diagonals are set, the streetlights going up as the mountain dives down. I think it adds a lot to the contrasts in the photo (man x nature, cold colors x warm colors, ascending x descending…).

    May 18, 2011 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

