Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Rust Colored Moon~Total Lunar Eclipse

 

Lunar Eclipse

Total Lunar Eclipse

The Warped Prism is back, although perhaps with somewhat less frequent postings for the near future.   It was on an unscheduled hiatus due to health issues with yours truly, but I am now on the mend.

This is a total lunar eclipse from 2007, shot from my front yard.  I used my Nikon D200, which does not have the incredible low light/low noise capabilities of my current D700.   This is more of a documentary shot I suppose, not art.    Hey, I broke the rule of thirds!  There is another lunar eclipse tonight, coinciding with the winter solstice, which hasn’t happened for 456 years if my information source is correct.  I encourage everybody to go out tonight/this morning and photograph the heck out of this thing.   Me, I will likely be asleep.

Everybody should check out the cool moon photo posted at http://oneowner.wordpress.com , now that’s good stuff.

5 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    Welcome back, Charles. We missed you. This is a great shot of the blood red moon. The D200 did a very nice job. I hope to get something tonight, but I don’t have my hopes up.
    I have broken the rule of thirds many times and lived to tell about it. Thanks for the plug.

    December 20, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    • Thanks Ken. Good to be back. When I got my D200 I had told my wife it was “the last camera I’ll ever need”. It was, until the D700 came out. I try not to get to obsessed with equipment, but must confess the D700’s low light capabilities really made it a must have, even though I had to sell a kidney to buy one. (Alright, I’m kidding on the kidney thing.)

      December 20, 2010 at 4:29 pm

  2. Glad you’re on your way to recovery. I always love your photographs. I am getting a Rebel t1i for Christmas and I can’t wait! I’ll definitely be posting some shots. I’ll have to learn how to use it first of course! I want to do more than point an click with it. I have found that youtube is an awesome resource for what I need so hopefully I’ll find some good tuturials.

    December 20, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    • Thank you Gayle. A new camera is exciting, and the beauty of digital is you can experiment and learn all you want, with near instant feedback for no additional cost.

      December 20, 2010 at 4:31 pm

  3. I am new here, but happy to hear that you are on the mend. The color of the moon is luscious.

    January 8, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Leave a Reply

