Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Outdoor Portraits~Homemade Diffuser Panel

In the “I don’t have a studio or studio lights” department, this is an example of what you can do with only sunlight and a little experimentation.  I built an approx. 4 foot wide by 6 foot high frame out of PVC piping, using PVC elbow and tee connectors as needed.   I purchased a sheet of white nylon fabric, similar to stuff you see kites made of, and cut it to match the frame.   I then used metal clips from an office store to clip the fabric to the frame.   The frame was set up with the sun shining through from behind, my baby niece was put on a table in front of the panel, resting on white towels in this case.   I thought it looked pretty good, although when I had prints made my lab gave me a hard time about all the background being blown out in such extreme fashion.    Anyhow, its just sunlight coming through the panel from behind and above, bouncing around.  I think I experimented with a tiny bit of on camera fill flash as well during this session, not necessarily on this particular image however.

I did not cement all the frame components together, the pipe simply slips into the fittings so it can be disassemble for transport.   Although I tweaked the specific construction, this basic  idea is one I got from the internet a couple of years ago, I do not claim it as my own.

4 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    It’s a beautiful shot of your niece, Charles. The high key effect is perfect for this type of subject. The frame you built gives a nice even light. Pretty clever. I think you will find a lot of other uses for this frame as well.

    November 11, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  2. Very creative. Great shot. I bet you’ll find photographing people to be just as interesting as landscaping. Although I love all of your pictures, I’m always impressed with the scenery you find. Thanks for sharing.

    November 30, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  3. Hooray for elbow grease and ingenuity. I hope you keep experimenting with your diffuser panel. I surely do like the results so far.

    I discovered your blog through Ken Bello and look forward to exploring more of your posts.

    January 8, 2011 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

