Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Light Painted Flower

Penlight Painted Flower

I did a little experimenting with light painting again last night.   A flower closeup, courtesy of my Canon close up lens on my Sigma 70-200mm lens.   Shot at ISO 400 at f/11 for 7.1 seconds.   During that time I was painting the flower with a little weak penlight, including some light from behind.   I thought it turned out fairly interesting, especially the yellow “nucleus”.    For anybody wanting to try something similar, I find that you really do need a weak penlight, one of those more modern LED blazing models is too bright, the exposure will be too short to do anything creative, even at a low ISO.   Of course, your mileage may differ.

One response

  1. Ken Bello

    This is one beautiful shot, Charles. I’m familiar with the technique but I’ve never tried it on a close-up. I’m putting this on my to-do list, but I will have to tape some tissue or paper to diffuse my pen light. It can be seen from the moon.

    November 8, 2010 at 7:49 am

Leave a Reply

