Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Monochrome Without the Monochrome~Birds & Fog

Birds On Lake In Icy Winter Fog

A Serene Winter Fog

This is a color photo, nature herself did the monochrome conversion on this one.   I usually prefer a deep contrast in my black and white images, but a lighter airy feel seems better for this one.  An icy winter fog was over the partially frozen lake, but the ducks and geese seemed to be coping just fine.  This image is an example of what you can achieve with a point and shoot camera, it was an early test of my little Canon S90.    This is a sophisticated ‘point and shoot’, but I don’t recall doing anything special here, I probably chose the f-stop, focused, composed, and clicked.   You don’t have to have a big old dSLR (although they sure are nice.)

 

5 responses

  1. Joe Andrews

    very nice work with this, it’s absolutely beautiful!
    love it-

    October 26, 2010 at 9:37 am

  2. Very beautiful! Funny you should post this today, I took some photos in the fog this morning, and came to the same conclusion concerning the contrast.
    I had a little Sony cybershot for a couple years before my Nikon dslr and it took some mighty fine pics – a much better job than I could have ever expected from a point and shoot!

    October 26, 2010 at 11:04 am

  3. Ken Bello

    A great shot, Charles. Any more contrast and it would have an entirely different mood. Sometimes nature cooperates.

    October 26, 2010 at 11:36 am

  4. Ken Bello

    I just looked up the Canon S90 and that looks like a nice little camera. Very sophisticated, with lots of nice, usable features. Good choice.

    October 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm

  5. Thanks all. Yes the S90 is a little powerhouse, although I confess I don’t use it enough to be quick with it…I’m always having to fiddle around with the dials and menus etc. I just need to use it more, that’s all.

    October 27, 2010 at 7:40 am

Leave a Reply

