Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Just Fooling Around~The Door

 

B&W HDR with Colorful Door

Bahamas Building

As you may have gathered, I am not a photo purist, I like to experiment with image manipulation on occasion.  This particular little building/hut/shack/house is at the stingray attraction on Half Moon Cay in the Bahamas.  It is painted a variety of colors, and looked good as a straight HDR.   The composition is kind of in your face, but it seemed like the way to go at the time.   I’ve been inspired by my friend Ken’s classy work  over at Oneowner to try something like this, but the blame is mine if it fails miserably.   Click on the photo for a nice big version if you dare, it looks better.

7 responses

  1. This is a very interesting photo – good job!!

    October 20, 2010 at 9:58 am

  2. Hussain Kadhem

    Well, actually it’s lovely fooling around 😛
    love the isolation of the colors. The picture looks blurry and it needs sharpness. That’s all 🙂

    October 20, 2010 at 10:06 am

  3. When you say that you are not a photo purist, do you suppose this is like the concept of writing fiction? You’re not retelling facts so much as making life more interesting? It certainly makes things more interesting. Yours is the first photoblog I’ve followed, and I appreciate reading about how much thought and technique go into your craft. I knew it wasn’t merely point and click, but I am still quite amazed. I look forward to your posts!

    October 20, 2010 at 10:45 am

    • Thank you for the comment Libby. I like the comparison to writing fiction. There’s room in photography for both writing the facts, and for writing a little fiction.

      October 21, 2010 at 7:33 am

  4. Ken Bello

    Nicely done, Charles. I remember seeing this on your gallery (before the B&W conversion) and thought it was a stunning shot. If it were mine, I probably would have been satisfied at that point. But this shows a creative imagination combined with technical ability that works really well. I’m trying to figure out how you manipulated the colors. Don’t tell me. It’ll be a fun project for me. I have hinted about one’s artistic vision before on a post, that it may not be to everyone’s taste. Don’t let it stop you. Develop your craft. Develop your vision.

    October 20, 2010 at 11:26 am

    • I almost posted the original, then I got carried away. Anyhow, very observant of you Ken to notice the color change on the door – if that’s what you’re talking about. hehe.

      October 21, 2010 at 7:36 am

  5. Thanks to everyone for taking the time to comment.

    October 21, 2010 at 7:37 am

Leave a Reply

