Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Sunset In The Bermuda Triangle

Sunset in the Bermuda Triangle

Sunset in the Bermuda Triangle

Here’s a landscape without the land…I suppose that would make it a seascape.   In any case, this was a sunset in open ocean somewhere in the vicinity of the Bahamas.   I would have preferred a rocky seacoast, interesting island, tall sailing ship, or something similar for the foreground or mid-ground, but alas –  none were available.    This one had very little post processing, just level tweaks and a small saturation boost to the flat RAW file.

4 responses

  1. Very nice. You must travel a lot. Do you travel on business as a photographer or for personal enjoyment?

    October 19, 2010 at 9:02 am

    • Truth is Gayle, I don’t travel that much. (I can see why you might think so however.) My wife and I usually take a trip somewhere once every two years as a vacation. The trick is to shoot a couple of thousand images on each trip to tide you over. 🙂

      October 19, 2010 at 11:02 am

  2. Ken Bello

    Very nice. Sometimes the simplicity of a scene is the only thing necessary for a great shot. You nailed the exposure too. Did you shoot in the manual mode or did you use an AUTO setting? If it’s AUTO, I have a lot of respect for NIKON.

    October 19, 2010 at 10:23 am

    • Yep. I just went and took a quick look at the data, the original in Lightroom says “pattern” which means it was Nikon’s Matrix Metering mode. That’s what I use 99% of the time on my D700, usually in Aperture Priority mode, and it is pretty amazing. I shoot RAW so of course there is some latitude there in post processing as well. (I have to say that, especially for my New England trip, the jpegs I shot along with the RAW came out looking fantastic right out of the camera. That almost persuaded me to give up the RAW stuff. )

      October 19, 2010 at 11:10 am

Leave a Reply

