Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Little (Abandoned) House On The Prairie~In Ten Minutes Or Less

 

Window Detail Of Abandoned Stone House

Window Detail Of Abandoned Stone House.

 

I was fortunate enough to spend Saturday in my wife’s hometown of Belleville, Ks. photographing my lovely nieces and assorted family members.  At one location, off in a field in the distance, I spotted  an interesting abandoned stone house that was falling apart.   (I think this was probably a circa early 1900’s farmhouse at one time anyway.)   I’m always a sucker for abandoned buildings and architectural details, so this was a moth-to-the-flame type situation.  My primary mission in Belleville was portrait photography, but my brother-in-law was kind enough to drive me over to the stone house for a quick (under ten minutes) photo session.   So what do you do when confronted with an interesting subject, but under mid-day harsh sunlight and an uninteresting sky, and a time limit?  Why you just wing it of course.  (Then do some monochrome conversions when you get back home and hope you got something worth keeping-that’s what I did anyway.)   I’m not sure how successful I was, but thought it might make for a mildly interesting post.   I’ve filed this location away as somewhere that would be worthwhile re-visiting in more dramatic lighting conditions-or even at night.  I can’t believe my wife never told me about this house.

~Just a final quick note, it looks to me like these particular photos benefit quite a bit when viewed at the larger size you should get when clicking on the photo. ~

 

 

Abandoned Stone House

Abandoned House On The Prairie Near Belleville, Ks.

 

 

 

Abandoned Stone House~The Front

Abandoned Stone House~The Front Side

 

 

 

Abandoned Stone House~South Side Window

Abandoned Stone House~South Side Window

 

I was kicking myself later on the image above.   If I had been thinking clearly I would have centered a single distant tree in the window opening.   Dang it.

 

 

Abandoned Stone House~North Side Window

Abandoned Stone House~North Side Window

 

2 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    WOW! You did this in under 10 minutes? These are wonderful, Charles, especially the one titled “Abandoned House On The Prairie Near Belleville, Ks.” (my personal favorite, although they are all great). The B&W conversion works well with this series. I confess I am also drawn to abandoned structures, maybe it’s something about the way they endure past their usefulness, but still beautiful in their own way, that’s intriguing. Well done.

    October 18, 2010 at 1:50 pm

  2. Thanks for the encouragement again Ken.

    October 19, 2010 at 7:18 am

Leave a Reply

