Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Surreal Sunrise On Cadillac Mountain

Surreal Sunrise On Cadillac Mountain

Surreal Sunrise On The Summit Of Cadillac Mountain

Cadillac Mountain is located in Acadia National Park, Maine.  At 1,528 feet it is a mere bump compared to the major mountain ranges, but it is the tallest peak along the coast of the eastern United States.  I was able to be at the summit for one sunrise, and it was very interesting.  (You can drive to the summit and park your car, but if you want to picture me heroically rope climbing to the top it’s OK with me.)  This particular morning it was partly cloudy, there were clouds out over the ocean, low clouds hugging the coast, clouds actually flowing around the summit of the mountain in the brisk wind….it was visually exciting but also chaotic.   I didn’t think the photos I took when the sun was lower quite worked….they were interesting but there was so much happening they seemed unfocused.  Not literally, but subject-wise if that makes sense.  When the sun rose higher it, I shot some images that I find more appealing, even if they looked like they were taken on the surface of Mars.   (If Mars had plants.)   The sun was filtered by clouds at this particular point…it’s still blown out photographically, but hey…it’s the sun.

Here’s one of the earlier shots, it has pretty colors but I don’t think I quite nailed a satisfying composition.  Anyhow, it was fun to be there and quite memorable.

Sunrise, Cadillac Mountain

 

3 responses

  1. Ken Bello

    You’re not giving yourself due credit. Anytime I shoot into the sun it spell disaster (for me, not the sun). There is an amazing amount of detail in the foreground I find interesting. The “Sunrise, Cadillac Mountain” photo is stunning! Makes me want to take this trip, it’s not as far from Webster, NY as your home state of Kansas.

    October 15, 2010 at 11:27 am

  2. This photograph really makes me think… give up work, sell up, pack up, take the family and go travelling.

    October 17, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  3. I love acadia! you picked a great time of day to be there. there’s nothing like the fog/cloud/mists that just roll over the islands and hills on the maine coast, eerie and enchanting

    October 19, 2010 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

