Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Fall Foliage-Galaxy Hill Road, Vermont

Fall Foliage Along Galaxy Hill Road, Vermont

Fall Colors Along Rainy Galaxy Hill Road, Vermont.

While it might seem counterintuitive, a rainy overcast day can really make colors pop.  This was a favorite spot we found in Vermont, I visited it twice.  The first day was rainy and I jumped out of the car for a few quick hand held frames.   The second day was dry, and  I came back with a tripod and took some time…but as it turns out I prefer the rainy day images.   The light is what really matters.

8 responses

  1. Beautiful shot! Yes, the clouds act as a diffuser so the light is softer. I too prefer the cloudy days.
    Love this picture, well done!

    October 7, 2010 at 8:18 am

  2. Very pretty colors indeed.

    October 7, 2010 at 8:40 am

  3. Thanks for the comments. Honestly, it’s hard to go wrong when confronted with a scene like that.

    October 8, 2010 at 8:08 am

  4. Nice colors with dreamy effects!

    October 11, 2010 at 3:42 pm

  5. sandyvanasch

    Fantastic! Would you allow me to oil paint this photo? I am not planning on selling it when done. I do want to observe your copyright.

    Thank you so much,
    Sandy Van Asch

    October 11, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    • Sandy I don’t have a problem with you oil painting this scene as long as the painting is for your personal use. I appreciate your asking first. I would love to see your finished painting, if you could photograph it and post it or email it so I could see it when you are done. (Just for my own enjoyment.) That would be great!

      October 11, 2010 at 6:38 pm

  6. nahniku

    Well…it looks incredible!

    October 12, 2010 at 7:05 am

Leave a Reply

