Don't fret, it's just Charles Ford's photography blog.

Photographing Jupiter Without A Telescope-A Quick Experiment

I’ve always been interested in astronomy as well as photography, but never really tried much astrophotography.   The other night, when I found out Jupiter was making it’s closest approach to earth in decades, I went out to take a look.   As is my custom when seeing something cool, I try and figure out if it can be photographed.   I tried a few shots with my D700 & super sharp 24mm-70mm Nikkor lens.  Although this lens gave very little magnification, when examining the images on the computer I was amazed that I could both see Jupiter was clearly a disk (not just a point of light), and a hint of what looked to be the four brightest moons.    Now I’m fully aware that all this is visible in normal binoculars, but for some reason I had not expected it to be so obvious with my camera.

Swapping out the nikkor with my Sigma 70mm-200mm I went back out.   With this longer lens zoomed into 180mm or so you can actually see the four Galilean moons of Jupiter. (Ganymede, Callisto, Europa, and Io.)   Yes, they’re just little dots of light, and Jupiter itself is way overexposed, but I thought it was really interesting that I could go out with just my camera and some normal-ish lenses, and capture this.   I’m sure there are many thousands of astrophotographers out there to whom this is no big revelation, but I was impressed.  I can see how this could be  an interesting hobby.


Jupiter at 180mm on a D700. Click for larger version.

One response

  1. Bob

    Loving the photo’s…was trying the same last night but alas got nothing as good as yours.

    October 23, 2011 at 11:11 am

Leave a Reply

